2019-20 Pomona College Catalog 
    
    Sep 27, 2020  
2019-20 Pomona College Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG] Use the dropdown above to select the current 2020-21 catalog.

Academic Calendar


 

 

Fall Semester 2019

Date Day Event
August 21 Wed. International students arrive; resident hall open for international students
August 25 Sun. New students arrive; residence halls open for new students
Aug. 25 - Sep. 3 Sat.-Tue. Orientation for new students
Aug. 31 Sat. Residence halls open for returning students
Sep. 1 Sun. Course enrollment for new, transfer, exchange and special students
Sep. 3 Tue. Fall semester begins; classes begin at 8:10 a.m; convocation
Sep. 9 Mon. Deadline for (1) coursework for approved spring 2019 incompletes to be submitted to instructors, unless another deadline was approved; (2) independent study proposals for fall 2019
Sep. 16 Mon. Last day to add a course or change board plan; last day for course fee refunds. All fees become final (art, labs, PE, music)
Oct. 9 Wed. Suggested date by which to submit low-grade notifications for fall 2019 semester
Oct. 21-22 Mon.-Tue. Fall recess
Oct. 24 Thu. Last day to drop a course
Nov. 7 Thu. Last day to choose pass/no credit grading option; last day to sign student promissory notes
Nov. 11 Mon. Student accounts must be current to register for spring 2020
Nov. 19-22 Tue.-Fri. Pre-enrollment for spring 2020 semester
Nov. 27-29 Wed.-Fri. Thanksgiving recess
Dec. 11 Wed. Last day of classes for fall semester
Dec. 12-13 Thu.-Fri. Reading Days
Dec. 13 Fri. Last day to petition for incomplete
Dec. 16-20 Mon.-Fri. Final examinations
Dec. 20 Fri. Fall semester ends
Dec. 21 Sat. Residence halls close at noon
Dec. 26 Thu. Final grades must be submitted by noon

 

Spring Semester 2020

Date Day Event
Jan. 19 Sun. Residence halls open for new and returning students
Jan. 20 Mon. Martin Luther King, Jr. Holiday
Jan. 21 Tue. Spring semester begins; classes begin at 8:10 a.m.
Jan. 27 Mon. Deadline for (1) coursework for approved fall 2019 incompletes to be submitted to instructors, unless another deadline was approved; (2) independent study proposals for spring 2020
Feb. 3 Mon. Last day to add a course or change board plan; last day for course fee refunds. All course fees become final (art, labs, PE, music)
Feb. 14-16 Fri.-Sun. Family Weekend
Feb. 26 Wed. Suggested date by which to submit low-grade notifications for spring 2020 semester
Mar. 12 Thu. Last day to drop a course*
Mar.16-20 Mon.-Fri. Spring recess
Mar. 27 Fri.

César Chávez Day observed (staff and instructional holiday)

Apr. 9 Thu. Last day to choose pass/no credit grading option*; last day to sign student promissory notes
Apr. 20 Mon. Student accounts must be current to register for fall 2020
Apr. 21-23 Tue.-Thu. Pre-enrollment for fall 2020 semester*
May 6 Wed. Last day of classes for spring semester; last day to enroll in a summer research/reading course; last day to withdraw from a course*
May 7-8 Thu.-Fri. Reading Days
May 8 Fri. Grades for graduating seniors must be submitted by noon; last day to petition for incomplete*
May 11-15 Mon.-Fri. Final examinations
May 15 Fri. Spring semester ends
May 17 Sun. Commencement at 10:00 a.m.
May 18 Mon. Residence halls close at noon
May 21 Thu.

All grades for non-graduating students must be submitted by noon

 
*Due to Covid-19, the following information for spring 2020 has been updated:
Last day to drop has been extended to April 6.
P/NC deadline: Faculty can assign grades of P/NC at their discretion after April 9.
Pre-registration has been moved to 4/28 – 4/30
Last day to withdraw is May 6 (this is on a line in the calendar also)
Senior grading deadline has been extended to May 21.